Fork me on GitHub

Project Notes

#155 ESP8266/SerialTest/ruby

Exercising ESP8266 module serial communications with Ruby

Notes

I’m using an ESP8266 ESP-01 module with default firmware as detailed in the ESP8266/SerialTest project.

This is a test of driving it with a simple ruby script

bundle       # install gem dependencies
./espy.rb    # prints command help

status

if possible it will return software details, access point and IP address..

$ ./espy.rb /dev/tty.wchusbserial14540:9600 status
ESP8266 Client initialised for : /dev/tty.wchusbserial14540
            connection options : {"baud"=>9600, "data_bits"=>8, "stop_bits"=>1, "parity"=>0}
                       signals : {"rts"=>1, "dtr"=>1, "cts"=>0, "dsr"=>0, "dcd"=>0, "ri"=>0}
Waiting to warm up the connection..
AT

OK
AT+GMR
0018000902-AI03

OK
AT+CWMODE?
+CWMODE:1

OK
AT+CWJAP?
+CWJAP:"Sunshine"

OK
AT+CIFSR
192.168.0.14

OK

reset

$ ./espy.rb /dev/tty.wchusbserial14540:9600 reset
ESP8266 Client initialised for : /dev/tty.wchusbserial14540
            connection options : {"baud"=>9600, "data_bits"=>8, "stop_bits"=>1, "parity"=>0}
                       signals : {"rts"=>1, "dtr"=>1, "cts"=>0, "dsr"=>0, "dcd"=>0, "ri"=>0}
Waiting to warm up the connection..
AT+RST

OK
H!???F
?!9?????)?
[Vendor:www.ai-thinker.com Version:0.9.2.4]

ready

get web page

Let’s query a time service: http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/timer.pl Note: I used to use http://www.timeapi.org/utc/now for tests like this, but that site appears to no longer exist.

$ ./espy.rb /dev/tty.wchusbserial14530 get http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/timer.pl
ESP8266 Client initialised for : /dev/tty.wchusbserial14530
            connection options : {"baud"=>9600, "data_bits"=>8, "stop_bits"=>1, "parity"=>0}
                       signals : {"rts"=>1, "dtr"=>1, "cts"=>0, "dsr"=>0, "dcd"=>0, "ri"=>0}
Waiting to warm up the connection..
AT+CIPSTART="TCP","tycho.usno.navy.mil",80

OK
Linked
AT+CIPSEND=98
> GET /timer.pl HTTP/1.1
Host: tycho.usno.navy.mil
User-Agent: EspyClient/0.9.2.4
Accept: */*
SEND OK

+IPD,819:HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:26:05 GMT
Server: Apache/2.4.25 (Unix)
X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN
Last-Modified: Tue, 19 Sep 2017 16:26:04 GMT
ETag: W/"231-5598d50d4878d"
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Content-Length: 561
Content-Type: text/html

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2 Final"//EN>
<html>
<body>
<TITLE>What time is it?</TITLE>
<H2> US Naval Observatory Master Clock Time</H2> <H3><PRE>
<BR>Sep. 19, 16:26:04 UTC   Universal Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 12:26:04 PM EDT    Eastern Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 11:26:04 AM CDT    Central Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 10:26:04 AM MDT    Mountain Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 09:26:04 AM PDT    Pacific Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 08:26:04 AM AKDT Alaska Time
<BR>Sep. 19, 06:26:04 AM HAST Hawaii-Aleutian Time
</PRE></H3><P><A HREF="http://www.usno.navy.mil"> US Naval Observatory</A>

</body></html>


OK
AT+CIPCLOSE

OK
Unlink

Construction

NB: diagrams drawn with the custom parts from ESP8266_fritzing.

Breadboard

The Schematic

The Build

Credits and References

About LEAP#155 ESP8266ruby
Project Source on GitHub Return to the LEAP Catalog

This page is a web-friendly rendering of my project notes shared in the LEAP GitHub repository.

LEAP is my personal collection of electronics projects, usually involving an Arduino or other microprocessor in one way or another. Some are full-blown projects, while many are trivial breadboard experiments, intended to learn and explore something interesting (IMHO!).

The projects are usually inspired by things found wild on the net, or ideas from the sources such as:

Feel free to borrow liberally, and if you spot any issues do let me know. See the individual projects for credits where due. There are even now a few projects contributed by others - send your own over in a pull request if you would also like to add to this collection.